List Of Indian State & Union Territory With Capital

India is a country located in southern Asia. With over 1.3 billion people, India is the most populous democracy in the world. There are 29 states and 7 Union territories in the country. Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her. From the largest to the smallest, each State/UT of India has a unique demography, history and culture, dress, festivals, language etc.
Here are the Complete Lists of List Of Indian State & Union Territory With Capital from which questions were generally asked in various Competitive Exams (i.e. SSC CGL, IBPS, RRB etc.). Go through this material. If you need this in PDF form just give us your valuable comments. This material is very essential for all Upcoming Competitive Exams. Go through it Properly.


State/Union Territory


State Area (sq km)

1 Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair 8,249
2 Andhra Pradesh Amaravati 1,60,205
3 Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar 83,743
4 Assam Dispur 78,550
5 Bihar Patna 99,200
6 Chandigarh Chandigarh 114
7 Chhattisgarh Raipur 1,35,194
8 Dadra and Nagar Haveli Silvassa 491
9 Daman and Diu Daman 112
10 National Capital Territory of Delhi Delhi 11,297
11 Goa Panaji 3,702
12 Gujarat Gandhinagar 1,96,024
13 Haryana Chandigarh 44,212
14 Himachal Pradesh Shimla 55,673
15 Jammu and Kashmir Srinagar (S) and Jammu(W) 2,22,236
16 Jharkhand Ranchi 74,677
17 Karnataka Bengaluru 1,91,791
18 Kerala Thiruvananthapuram 38,863
19 Lakshadweep Kavaratti 32
20 Madhya Pradesh Bhopal 3,08,252
21 Maharashtra Mumbai 3,07,713
22 Manipur Imphal 22,347
23 Meghalaya Shillong 22,720
24 Mizoram Aizawl 21,081
25 Nagaland Kohima 16,579
26 Orissa Bhubaneswar 1,55,820
27 Puducherry Puducherry 479
28 Punjab Chandigarh 50,362
29 Rajasthan Jaipur 3,42,269
30 Sikkim Gangtok 7,096
31 Tamil Nadu Chennai 1,30,058
32 Telangana Hyderabad 1,14,840
33 Tripura Agartala 10,491
34 Uttar Pradesh Lucknow 2,43,286
35 Uttarakhand Dehradun 53,483
36 West Bengal Kolkata 88,752


All the states and two union territories, Puducherry and the National Capital Territory of Delhi, have an elected form of government and legislatures. They are headed by a Chief Minister, who is elected for a term of five years. Other union territories are directly ruled by the Central government. Under the States Reorganisation Act of 1956, the states were reorganised on the basis of language.

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *